Sophy, HR Assistant

Meet Sophy, HR Assistant!

Sep 29, 2020

Sophy is an HR Assistant at Guild.

Q: Describe a typical day as the HR Assistant.

A: I start my day by planning out my priorities as emails and tickets come in. I manage the administrative tasks for my team. I have been helping managers with performance reviews through team meetings. It all depends on the day; it can be very busy as there is always something different that arises in HR. I am working on getting our department to be electronic, so I have been scanning a lot of the paperwork that HR has been collecting over the years. One of my big projects is to upload all personnel files into UltiPro.

Q: Why did you choose to work for Guild?

A: I choose Guild because of the mental health services that we provide to our community.

Q: What motivates you?

A: My son Xavier motivates me every day, and one of the greatest things in life is being a mother. He inspires me to overcome challenges and to have strength. He encourages me to be a great role model and to provide him resources so that he can succeed in life.

Q: What do you enjoy most about your job?

A: I enjoy supporting my team and being able to help employees with their requests.

Q: What is something you’ve learned throughout your time at Guild?

A: I learned that Guild provides many resources, and I am proud to be working for a company that is giving back to the community.

Q: What’s your proudest memory from working at Guild?

A: I am new to the mental health industry. Once I started learning the acronyms of all the programs and understood what each program does, It made me proud of what Guild does.

Q: What do you do in your free time?

A: Before COVID, I was hosting an AirBnB in St. Paul. The house is located on the light rail so it was great for sporting events. I had people come in from all over the country, and it was nice to meet different people. On the weekend, I’m a Cosmetologist! I was providing hair services and my expertise is eyelash extensions. I was two months booked out! Now, I spend my time doing yard work, fishing, and gardening. Xavier loves catching little Sun fishes and I am having fun reeling in the largemouth bass.